Are you truly seeing?

Behold – see or observe (a thing or person, especially a remarkable or impressive one). (Google)

I need to behold God. How much do I spend each day beholding any and everything EXCEPT for my mighty God??

After a long day and a full week, I come to my room. Absently I decide to find the above song on YouTube, and within 30 seconds of the song, I have tears in my eyes and stop everything – no more folding clothes, sifting through papers, and spinning my wheels about life decisions. 

I need to behold God.

Oh Lord – help me to behold you daily, hourly, moment by moment. I truly need to behold You! You are the One we need to see. You are the One we need to hear from. You are the One who gives us life and freedom.

“Behold, God, my salvation!
I will trust and not be afraid,
For the Lord God is my strength and song;
Yes, He has become my salvation.”

-Isaiah 12:2

I need to not only behold God, but also adore Him. He is so worthy of it.

Let’s conclude by beholding Him in song once more…in a different way, in another tune, by another disciple musician…

I am so thankful for musicians who seek the Lord and then beautifully share and teach us with the truth God has put into their hearts.

“It is possible to acknowledge the existence of God while not truly knowing Him.”

—John Snyder, Behold Your God

What’s your journey in beholding God and the struggle to keep your eyes on Him? Would love to hear your thoughts!

Therefore if you have been raised with Christ [to a new life, sharing in His resurrection from the dead], keep seeking the things that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your mind and keep focusedhabitually on the things above [the heavenly things], not on things that are on the earth [which have only temporal value]. For you died [to this world], and your [new, real] life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is our life,[a]appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory.

-Colossians 3:1-3


Leave a comment